2011 IFSH Meeting Materials

2011 Annual Meeting

October 11-12, 2011
IFSH Annual Meeting
Hyatt Lodge at McDonald’s Campus, Oak Brook, IL

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Welcoming Remarks and Update on the Institute For Food Safety And Health (IFSH)
Robert Brackett, PhD, Vice President, Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT), and Director, IFSH

Update on FDA’s Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
Jenny Scott, Senior Advisor to the Director, Office of Food Safety (OFS), Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN), US Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Regulatory Perspectives and the Food Safety and Preventive Controls Alliance (FSPCA)

Jenny Scott, FDA/CFSAN

PC Vasavada, PhD, Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin-River Falls and FSPCA Alliance Coordinator, FDA/CFSAN

New Food-Related Initiatives with IIT

Patrick Whitney, Steelcase/Robert C. Pew Professor of Design and Dean, IIT School of Design

Siva Balasubramanian, PhD, Harold L. Stuart Professor of Marketing and Associate Dean, IIT Stuart School of Business

Mickie Piatt, JD, Associate Professor of Law and Deputy Director of the Program in Intellectual Property Law, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

IFSH’s Research Portfolio

Foodborne Viruses
Stephen Grove, PhD, Research Assistant Professor and Scientist, IIT/IFSH

Low Moisture Foods
Nathan Anderson, PhD, Research Agricultural Engineer, FDA/CFSAN/OFS, Department of Food Processing Science and Technology (DFPST)

Extended Shelf Life Foods and High Pressure Processing
Shane Shepherd, Director of Technical Services, AmeriQual Group, LLC

Jason Wan, PhD, Research Professor and Director of Education and International Outreach, IIT/IFSH

Armand Paradis, Director of Business Development, IIT/IFSH

Yoonseok Song, PhD, Research Food Technologist, FDA/CFSAN/OFS/DFPST

Timothy Duncan, PhD, Research Chemist, FDA/CFSAN/OFS/DFPST

IFSH’s Nutrition Initiatives
Britt Burton-Freeman, PhD, Director, Center for Nutrition Research, IIT/IFSH

Lucinda Wisniewski, Group Vice President, Marketing and Client Solutions, The National Food Lab

Armand Paradis, IIT/IFSH

Hot Topics Panel: Non-O157:H7 Enteric Pathogens

Moderator: Robert Brackett, IIT/IFSH


Russell Flowers, PhD, Chairman and Chief Scientific Officer, Mérieux NutriSciences

Rajal Mody, MD LCDR US Public Health Service, Epidemiologist, Enteric Diseases Epidemiology Branch, Division of Foodborne, Waterborne, and Environmental Diseases, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Mary Lou Tortorello, PhD,Chief, Food Technology Branch
Department, FDA Division of Food Processing Science and Technology

Hot Topics Panel: The Changing Face of Process Authority

Moderator: John Larkin, PhD, Chief, Process Engineering Branch, FDA/CFSAN/OFS/DFPST


Rosanne Batema, PhD, Senior Principal Scientist, Mead Johnson Nutrition

Glenn Black, PhD, Director of Science Operations, Grocery Manufacturers Association

Wilfredo Ocasio, PhD Vice President, Food Safety & Commercialization, The National Food Lab

Membership Questions


Business Development & Communication Manager