C. Patrick Dunne Named 2011 IFSH Award Winner

The Institute for Food Safety and Health (IFSH) at Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) has awarded its prestigious 2011 IFSH Award to C. Patrick Dunne, Ph.D., Senior Research Chemist and Senior Advisor, Nutritional Biochemistry and Advanced Processing at the U.S. Army Natick Soldier Research, Development & Engineering Center.

The presentation of the engraved glass statuette was made at the IFSH Annual Meeting at the Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus in Oak Brook, IL.

IFSH, formerly the National Center for Food Safety and Technology (NCFST), presents its annual award to recognize the achievements of an individual member in the field of food science and technology who has made outstanding contributions to food safety or nutrition across government, academia and industry. Nominations are evaluated by a selection panel consisting of representatives from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), IIT, and the food industry.

"Dr. Dunne has done an outstanding job for the cause of food safety for our military personnel," said Jonathan W. DeVries, co-chair of the award selection committee. "Further, he has done so by collaborating with key food safety organizations such as NCFST/IFSH to investigate potential improvements in food safety via processing and procedures. He has focused on collaboration to assess new innovations for their efficacy, applicability, practicality, and cost effectiveness as the best means of minimizing food safety risks for those who serve with him in the military."

DeVries noted that among his many notable achievements, Dunne was the leader of three very successful academic-industry consortia under the Department of Defense's (DoD) Dual Use Science & Technology (DUST) program for advanced food processing technologies. One of these was a ground-breaking effort at NCFST. In particular, he was a key collaborator in the effort of obtaining a U.S. FDA filing for thermally assisted (mild), high pressure sterilization of low acid foods. The pressure-assisted thermal sterilization (PATS) process not only results in sterile food products, but preserves many of the desirable attributes of the foods that are lost during more vigorous thermal processing (i.e., at higher temperatures or for longer hold times).

As a result of this successful effort, NCFST was awarded a prestigious Institute of Food Technologists' Expo Innovation Award in 2009.

"His extensive contributions in the field of food safety," said DeVries, "from sound scientific and innovative approaches to novel food preservation systems, to sharing his vast technical expertise in guiding multiple initiatives with academia and industry to improve foods for the nation's Warfighters, truly typifies an IFSH Award winner, who promotes collaborative research for the benefit of food safety for all."

Dunne joins the IFSH Award Hall of Fame, which includes Jonathan W. DeVries, PhD, General Mills (2005), Michael Cirigliano, PhD, Unilever (2006), Richard Whiting, PhD, U.S. FDA CFSAN (2007), Katherine M.J. Swanson, PhD, Ecolab (2008), Paul A. Hall, PhD, AIV Microbiology & Food Safety Consultants, LLC (2009), and Daniel G. Brown, Hormel Foods (2010).