Leadership and Governance

IFSH Management

Brian Schaneberg, Ph.D., Executive Director, IFSH
Jason Wan, Ph.D, Associate Director, IFSH
Tina Gettis, Manager, Business Development & Communication
Alvin Lee, Ph.D., Director, Center for Processing Innovation
Ed Steiner, Director, Facilities
Karolina Piszczor, Safety Officer
Osvaldo Velarde, Director, Information Technology
Darsh Wasan, Ph.D., Founder and Advisor

FDA DFPST Directors, Chiefs and Team Leaders

Nate Anderson, Ph.D., Director, Division of Food Processing Science and Technology
Glenn Black, Ph.D., Associate Director of Research
Thomas Graham, Ph.D., Supervisor, Laboratory Proficiency and Evaluation Team
Lauren Jackson, Ph.D., FDA Team Leader, Food Chemistry and Nutrition Team

Elizabeth Grasso-Kelley, Ph.D., Chief, Food Technology Branch

NCFST Science Platform Coordinators


Alvin Lee, Ph.D.


Lauren Jackson, Ph.D.

Processing and Packaging

Jason Wan, Ph.D.

Food Chemistry

Lauren Jackson, Ph.D.

Proficiency Testing and Method Validation

Ravinder Reddy, Ph.D.


The Institute for Food Safety and Health (IFSH), a research institute of the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT), houses the National Center for Food Safety and Technology (NCFST) and other focused research centers in the areas of food safety, food processing technology, and nutrition and health.

NCFST is structured as a cooperative agreement between the US Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Food Safety and Nutrition (FDA CFSAN) and IIT. Industry companies and organizations are encouraged to become members of IFSH and to participate in the collaborative research program funded through this mechanism. Under the terms of NCFST’s cooperative agreement, governance and policy of the center are determined by an Executive Advisory Board composed of FDA, academic and industry members. A Technical Advisory Committee, composed of representatives from each member company and FDA, reviews research proposals and sets research priorities. Co-located at IFSH and under the cooperative agreement with NCFST, the FDA Division of Food Processing Science and Technology (DFPST) is responsible for managing FDA research programs and policy.

Day-to-day management of the institute is supplied by the IFSH Director. Staffing at IFSH includes scientists from IIT and the FDA Division of Food Processing Science and Technology, co-located at the Bedford Park facility. These researchers are experienced in the disciplines that affect food safety and quality, including food science and technology, food process engineering, biotechnology, analytical chemistry, chemical engineering, packaging, microbiology, and nutrition. In addition, visiting experts from member companies and other universities enrich the pool of available staff.

IFSH Advisory Board Members

meet our advisory board members

Membership Application Process


Business Development & Communication Manager